bassist * composer * improviser

Matt Pavolka

#15 Wondering Sound Review

Sophomore release from bassist Pavolka. The combo of four wind instruments and drums possesses an appealing fluidity and lightness to the heavy sounds and the driving tempos. Definitely situated in modern territory, but cross-breezes of the blues float through, and suddenly the music of today has a touch of the music of the past. Strong line-up joining Pavolka, with Kirk Knuffke on cornet, Loren Stillman on alto sax, Jacob Garchik on trombone, and Mark Ferber on drums. Knuffke, in particular, is have a prodigious 2014, and it’s tough to go wrong on anything that has his name on it this year.


Leave your comment

comments powered by Disqus

Official website